As part of our religion curriculum, we try to find ways to bring religion to life.  One of our favorite ways to do that is through books.  Recently, we’ve been reading The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Book One: The Beginning and Book Two: Race to the Ark published by WorthyKids/Ideals.

About The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Books 1 and 2

We read the first two books in the series, but it’s not essential that you read the first one before you read the second one.

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls:  The Beginning (Book #1)

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls

In The Beginning, seven year old Peter and his older sister, Mary, are dropped of at Great Uncle Solomon’s house because their parents are going on a month long trip to Africa.

Great Uncle Solomon used to be an archaeologist, and he tells the kids about finding the hidden scrolls.  The trouble is that he can’t get the scrolls open; they only open for the chosen ones.  Peter and Mary can’t contain their curiosity, so they sneak into Great Uncle Solomon’s library and accidentally open the scroll, which takes them back in time to the beginning of time when God is creating the world.

The angel Michael guides and protects them, and they learn that they have one week to decode the scroll written in Hebrew.  Meanwhile, they get a front seat view of God creating the world, and they battle the serpent who tries to steal the scroll.

When Peter and Mary do decode the scroll, they find themselves back in Great Uncle Solomon’s library, and no time has passed.

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls:  Race to the Ark (Book #2)

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls

Race to the Ark opens three days after Peter and Mary return to Great Uncle Solomon’s library after the first adventure.  This time, the kids find themselves in a very different world where stealing and lying is condoned and even encouraged.  They landed just days away from the Great Flood.  They see Noah’s ark and meet Noah’s son, Shem.  Angel Michael is once again there to help them; to their surprise, this time the Hebrew they need to decipher is six words long, not three like in the last book.

Each book has a page after the story is over that suggests chapters in the Bible kids can read that coincide with the action in the book, if they’d like to learn more.

How We Used The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls

I read these books aloud to the girls, but PB & J Girl, who is at a 2nd grade reading level, could have read these to herself.  (These books are recommended for ages 6 to 9 and 1st to 3rd grade reading levels.)

Our Thoughts on the Hidden Scrolls

I enjoyed reading these books.  They were suspenseful, and many times the girls asked me to keep reading even beyond what I had planned to read for the day, so that is good.  PB & J Girl had fun guessing what the words were on the secret scrolls.  She was able to guess the words on the scroll in book one, which she thought was great.  I also think the girls enjoyed the many illustrations throughout the book.


Keep up with WorthyKids/Ideals via social media:




I was one of 75 people to read The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Books 1 and 2.  To read more reviews, click on the link below:

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls. {WorthyKids/Ideals Reviews}

Crew Disclaimer

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...