This week, we continue Blogging through the Alphabet and sharing our favorite homeschool curriculum.

This post contains affiliate links.

As an English major and former community college English teacher, I love curriculum that is literature based.  When Bookworm was homeschooling, that was the type of curriculum he loved, too, so we used Sonlight Levels D and E and then BookShark Level 5.

Cuddle Bug would prefer her entire homeschool experience to be read alouds, so we’re currently using Sonlight Level C with her.

I’ve looked at other curriculum through the years such as Beautiful Feet Books, My Father’s World, and Heart of Dakota, but I always dismissed them as not having enough literature.

However, PB & J Girl likes to read, but unlike my other two children, she does not thrive on a literature-based curriculum.  She’s much more of a hands on learner.  This year, for her 5th grade homeschool curriculum, I decided to look at curriculum again with her hands-on needs in mind.  After doing research and watching many YouTube videos, I finally decided on Beautiful Feet Books, and both of us are happy with that decision!

About Beautiful Feet Books

Beautiful Feet Books has curriculum available for Kindergarten through 12th grade.  Each level of curriculum includes some good books, but not so many to overwhelm children, as well as many hands on activities, which is why we were drawn to it.

Beautiful Feet Books Ancient History Intermediate

Beautiful Feet Books Review

Since PB & J Girl has had a lot of American history, we decided on Beautiful Feet Books’ Ancient History Intermediate for grades 5 through 8.  The curriculum includes 1 study guide, 1 timeline, and 13 books.  The program has 97 lessons, meaning if you use this program 3 times a week, it will be a full year study.

Periods Covered in Ancient History Intermediate

Ancient History Intermediate covers five time periods:

  • Ancient Sumer and Mesopotamia
  • Ancient Egypt
  • Ancient Israel and Judah
  • Ancient Greece
  • Ancient Rome

The longest units, as is to be expected, are Ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome.

Lesson Format

Most lessons are comprised of reading a portion of the literature book & discussion questions (parents should read these aloud to 5th and 6th graders; 7th and 8th graders should be able to read them on their own), map work, Bible reading, notebooking, and timeline work.

Curriculum Components

The curriculum has several different components:

Hands-On Activities

Each one of the five units of study includes hands-on activity suggestions.  For instance, in the first unit, students can choose between

  • Make Sumerian Style Jewelry
  • Bake Cuneiform Tablet Cookies
  • Fold an Origami Pyramid
  • Lego Ziggurats
  • Build a Hanging Garden
  • Make Clay Cylinder Seals
  • Make Babylonian Glue Art

There are nine lessons in the first unit, so there are enough hands-on activities to do one almost every lesson, if you so choose.  Believe me, that is what my hands-on learner chooses first!


There is some excellent literature included with the program:

The Golden Bull: A Mesopotamian Adventure,

The Golden Goblet,


God King: A Story in the Days of King Hezekiah,

The Children’s Homer,

Theras and His Town,

The Bronze Bow,

The White Isle,

Supplemental Literature

If you want to bulk up the program (though it’s not necessary!) each unit has supplemental reading listed.  Some choices are literature books, others are books that will give you additional hands-on activities.  So far, we haven’t found the need to supplement.


The program comes with timeline sheets and pictures that students cut out, color, and glue to the timeline.  I’ll admit that I was surprised when I saw that the timeline didn’t come with dates already written on it, but the dates come through pictures that students add to the timeline.

Final Thoughts

Now that we have Beautiful Feet Books curriculum, I’m wondering why I didn’t buy it earlier.  This curriculum is wonderfully flexible, and you can easily tailor it to the specific needs of your learners.

To read more Blogging through the Alphabet posts, go to At Home: Where Life Happens.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...